This post was first published on my old Gifted Phoenix Blog back in November 2014.

Much of it is still relevant – parts are even somewhat prophetic.

 

Gifted Phoenix

I had been intending never to revisit the difficult topic of setting, secure in the knowledge that I could not improve on my earlier treatment of the pros and cons.

P1010978 Irrelevant picture of Norway by Gifted Phoenix

But recent developments have caused me to reconsider, led me to address the issue from a different perspective.

My previous post attempted an objective and balanced statement of the educational arguments for and against, drawing on the research evidence and taking account of all learners, regardless of their attainment.

This one explores how setting – just one option within the far wider range of so-called ‘ability grouping’ strategies –…

View original post 11,401 more words

